The Archived Commission

The first Poverty and Inequality Commission was appointed from July 2017 to June 2019. The Commission was independent, but was not a statutory body. It was made up of eight members:

Douglas Hamilton (Chair)
Kaliani Lyle (Deputy Chair)
Naomi Eisenstadt (Deputy Chair, September 2017 – December 2018)
David Eiser
Hugh Foy
Caroline Kennedy
Katie Schmuecker
Sally Witcher

The work of the first Commission came to an end at the end of June 2019 and the new statutory Poverty and Inequality Commission was established from July 2019. The first Commission and the current Commission share a similar remit. This page archives the work of the first Commission.

The archived news & blog posts can be found below:

Archived Meeting minutes

The Commission meets on a bi-monthly basis. It will sometimes meet more frequently, if the work of the Commission requires it.

We are committed to being as open and transparent as possible and as such minutes from our meetings will be made available here as soon as possible.

Download the minutes

Minutes – 05 September 2017

Minutes – 13 October 2017

Minutes – 7 November 2017

Minutes – 12 December 2017

Minutes – 18 January 2018

Minutes – 28 February 2018

Minutes – 19 April 2018

Minutes – 23 August 2018

Minutes – 25 October 2018

Minutes – 13 December 2018

Minutes – 27 February 2019

Minutes – 3 April 2019

Minutes – 30 May 2019

Subscribe to our newsletter for all the latest updates